Studying the Fa and Cultivating the Heart

Mary, SA

Greetings venerable Master!

Greetings fellow practitioners! 

As my cultivation has improved I would like to report back to Master. 

Study the Fa wholeheartedly

Everyday people want to attract attention and admiration, flaunting themselves in front of others. I am fortunate enough to be able to melt into the Fa, and not be led astray by everyday society. Out of the three things that need to be done, I believe that studying the Fa is the most fundamental. Without a solid grounding in Fa study and righteous thoughts, how can you clarify the truth from the realm of a cultivator? If a stranger is able to listen to me clarify the truth, he must have been touched by thoughts from the realm of a cultivator, not because I have been persuasive. Therefore, I do not allow anything to interfere with my Fa study. 

I use a pure heart to study the Fa wholeheartedly, and will never allow my thoughts to go astray or fall asleep while studying. When I study the Fa, every cell in my body is studying, and I feel as energetic as a young student. I am filled with a strong urge to seize every opportunity to study the Fa diligently and to purify my mind with the Fa. Actually, once Dafa enters our mind, human notions will be washed away. If a cultivator’s brain is filled with nothing but the Fa, just imagine how wonderful that would be!

We do not study the Fa so that we can pass a tribulation easily or solve a problem easily. Of course when it comes to overcoming a tribulation, the quality of our Fa study will manifest and be put to the test. Quite often when I suddenly encounter a tribulation, my first thought will be, “great!” I do not have any everyday people’s feeling of hatred, or fear of trouble. This mindset is not something you can pretend to have just because you want to have it. This mindset comes from having everyday thoughts changed from studying the Fa, allowing you to maintain a righteous mindset when encountering a tribulation. Often I find that after reading a few lines of Fa, the things that I was previously attached to would no longer interest me. I thought to myself, if only I could recite the Fa, how sacred would that be. From then on, reciting the Fa became an integral part of my cultivation. If everyday people can rid themselves of fame, gain or emotion, they would lead very happy lives. If a cultivator is not attached to things that everyday people are attached to, and never allow their thoughts to stray from the Fa, then they will definitely be in a very sacred realm. Through Fa study if we can continue to rid ourselves of desires and attachments, and allow our thoughts to be more pure, then our words will have greater power when we clarify the truth. 

Regardless of whether we read the Fa or recite the Fa, I always sit up straight. I often tell people that Falun Gong is deeply rooted in traditional Chinese culture. There is a saying in traditional culture that respect comes with sincerity. I also do the same. Often when I read the Fa, tears will flow freely, and I feel that a lot of what everyday people pursue is wrong.  In the process of reciting the Fa, I deeply feel that the purpose of having this human body is to cultivate, not to remain as a human in this world. Studying the Fa is limitless; I feel I am full of energy, and that my future is bright. No matter how big the troubles I face, my thoughts will be disconnected from this human realm; no matter how big the trouble I face, I can always sleep at night. I study the Fa diligently, and at that time, I have not let down the many beings in my realm. Ancient people who study everyday teachings will hang their hair up and put nails in the back of the chair to stop them from falling asleep. When I study this great Fa, how can I afford to be slack? The night before my IELTS exam, I continued my routine of studying the Fa upright; I did not have any concern in my heart. Two weeks later, when I hadn’t received my exam results, I went to school to check. The teacher smiled at me and told me that she was sure I would have no problems passing. I indeed passed the exam with flying colours. My exam results enabled me to have enough points to attain permanent residency in Australia and the Immigration Department accepted my application. We need to take care of our schooling and everyday lives because this is validating the Fa, and of course Fa study is integral to everything.

When I see everyday people using the Fa to obtain the things that they are attached to, I really have great pity for them! The Fa strengthens my compassionate thoughts. 

I persist with Fa study wholeheartedly and this has helped me to interact better with fellow practitioners. Back in China, the scene of practitioners studying the Fa diligently always attracted me. Once I went to a fellow practitioner’s house and I saw that she was studying the Fa on her balcony. She was so absorbed in what she was doing that she did not hear my footsteps. I learn from others when I cultivate, but when I study the Fa, I do not compete on quantity. Rather I strive to remember every word. When I can achieve this, I am so happy. In the past, I wanted others to care about me. When I left China, I left my friends and family. Here I do not have family and I often can’t help but cry. Through Fa study I hold myself to the Fa’s standards. I will think, “If I was a God or a Buddha, how would I behave? Do Buddhas need others to care about them?” I cultivated away this attachment in this environment. With the Fa in my heart, I don’t need to feel sorry for myself and my xinxing will improve. 

Cultivating and clarifying the truth in this everyday environment

After coming to Australia I often hear about people applying for permanent residency. When I first heard about this I was really impatient. A cultivator should constantly improve his understanding with regards to material things. Permanent residency will give you a better life and better job. Cultivators can have everything, but their heart should be unmoved. I warned myself that I should do well in regards to applying for residency and I should let go of this mental burden. I cannot be lost among everyday people! Since I was impatient, I looked within. I can be moved when I hear everyday people talk about this. I will feel scared and concerned for myself and this is why I encountered these issues. If I can maintain my righteous thoughts, eliminate interference and upgrade my xinxing, that is cultivation. 

Once when I was selling tickets for Shen Yun, someone saw that I was a student from Mainland China. They said to me, “Did you know that there are 500,000 people waiting to get permanent residency.” I recognized immediately that this was a test for me, as I had not broken through the attachment of personal interests. I tried not to feel uneasy and to regard this issue with righteous thoughts. If 500,000 people are waiting to get visas that has nothing to do with me. This is not something I should recognize as reality and my heart should be unmoved. That day I sold five tickets. A kind-hearted Westerner told me that he had already gone online and booked three of the most expensive tickets. When the Immigration Department approved my visa application my heart was unmoved. Cultivators talk about depth of character. I will not be attached to gain or loss. All good things come from Master and all the troubles that we encounter originate from our own attachments and state of mind. I feel that a true cultivator will always have a clear mind and not be moved by material things. I will strive to have this state of mind. 

Apart from doing well, I will work hard to clarify the truth to other people. Master said, “As Dafa disciples, what you should do in the current situation is clarify the truth to the world’s people and expose the evil, thereby safeguarding Dafa. Your own improvement and Consummation are part of this process.” (Essentials for Further Advancement II -  A Suggestion) 

Once a university lecturer asked us to talk about the educational systems in our respective countries. I spoke about the truth of the Chinese education system. After saying a few sentences a few of my Chinese classmates got very angry. I told them that this is a democratic country, I am entitled to finish what I am saying, if you have anything you disagree with, we can talk about it after class. A classmate said to me, “When you did your politics exam in China, didn’t you also toe the party line and give the answers you were supposed to give?” She angrily said, “I do not want to talk to you, you are not worthy of being Chinese.” From that time on, she refused to talk to me. 

The teacher stated that I was biased in my view of Chinese issues. I thought this feedback was unjustified, as I did not think I had exaggerated. I felt really uncomfortable. However looking within, I slowly understood that I had an attachment that I was in the right and others did not understand the truth, and therefore I was much better than everyone else. Because I had included my own impure thoughts, what I said was not accepted by others. When I enlightened to this, my environment changed. After finishing class one day, I heard someone calling my name. It was the classmate that had the disagreement with me. She said that she did not feel confident about her English skills and asked me to help her make a phone call to find out how she could extend her student visa. I made the phone call and told her what she needed to do. She was so happy and bought a bottle of water to thank me. I clarified the truth to her and she was able to accept it. I was able to help her with the three withdrawals and she repeatedly thanked me. 

I cannot ensure that I look within at all times, but I know that no matter what we encounter, as long as we persist in looking inward and cultivating ourselves, then we will be continually assimilating into the Fa. Finally, let us review Master’s Jingwen “Rationality” from Essentials for Further Advancement II. “Validate the Fa with rationality, clarify the truth with wisdom, spread the Fa and save people with mercy—this is establishing the mighty virtue of an Enlightened Being.”

Please kindly point out anything inappropriate.

Thank you Master for allowing me to cultivate within Dafa. 

Thank you Master, thank you fellow practitioners!

学法修心

Mary

尊敬的师父好!

各位同修好!

我的修炼有一定的進步,我把自己的修炼体会向师父汇报。

恒心学法

常人追求的就是光鲜夺人,在人前人后扬眉吐气。我有幸溶于法中修炼,不被常人社会吸引。三件事中,我认为学法是最根本的,最令人神往。没有坚实的学法基础与思想基础,又怎能在一个修炼人的境界中做好讲真相的事呢?一个素不相识的人能倾听我们讲真相,一定是被我们的境界打动,倒不一定是因为口才。所以,我不准任何事干扰我的学法。

我用一颗纯净的心认真学法,从不在学法时犯困或走神。我的每一个细胞都在学法。精力充沛,犹如十几岁的学生。只争朝夕、认真学法完全出于生命对修道强烈的渴望。恨不得脑子里装進的都是法,把在常人社会中灌输的不好的东西清除干净。其实,大法进去了,人的观念就会出来。如果一个修炼者的脑子里装進的都是大法,那岂是充实两个字能表达的呢?那是千金不换的幸福!

学法不是为了好好过关,更不是为了解决什么问题。当然一到关键时刻,学法的质量就能检测出来。有几次当一些事突如其来时,我的第一念是:太好了!没有出现像常人那样讨厌、害怕麻烦。而这朴素、纯净的一念并非我要这样想我就能这样想的。那是在学法中,常人的思维结构发生了变化,促使自己在磨难中保持一颗纯净的心。有时候我只看了几行字,刚刚还执著的东西就不感兴趣了。我想如果我能背法,那是多么神圣的事!于是,持之以恒的背法成为我的必修。常人如果没有名利情的因素,是高兴不起来的。而一个修炼的人不看重凡俗中的快乐,思想中半步不离大法书籍,就一定能达到真正快乐的境界。在学法中不断看淡各种欲望、执著,思想越纯净,讲出的话力量越大,从而促使人们来了解真相。

无论看书还是背法,我都正襟危坐。我常告诉人们,法轮功深深植根于中国的传统文化。传统文化讲主敬存诚。我自己也身体力行。有时看书时会泪流满面,觉的常人的很多追求是有失偏颇的。在背法的过程中,我深深体会到:有了这个人身,就是来修炼的,而不是留在常人中过日子的。学法是永无止境的,我觉的我有使不完的劲,生命光明、向上。不管碰到多大的麻烦,一到学法时间,思想中就跟这个世俗断绝关系。无论多大的难事,也希望睡觉时能睡得着。学法时勇猛如雄狮,那一刻我不负我的世界里殷殷期盼我的众生。古人学习常人的学问都可以头悬梁、锥刺股,我学习这最高深的佛法,岂敢怠慢。雅思考试的前一天晚上,我像往常一样端坐着学法,心中没有焦虑。两个礼拜后,我还没有收到成绩单,我就去学校查询。老师微笑着说:我肯定你没有问题。查询的结果是:雅思考试成绩优秀。凭着这份成绩单,加上大学学位证和其他申请材料,我达到移民分数。移民局接受了我的永久居留的申请。学习与生活要兼顾,因为这里有证实法的因素。然而学法是一切的一切。

当我看到常人把大好的时光用在眼前利益中时,我真的觉的他们很可怜!我的慈悲善念在学法中加强了。

我能恒心学法,也受益于与昔日同修的相处。在中国大陆,当我看到那庄严肃穆的学法场面时,我的心被深深的吸引,我心向往之。有一次我去同修家里,她似乎没听到我的脚步声。当时她正坐在阳台上看书。那份专注是任何东西都插不進去的。我看到的是一个修炼者对大法的恭敬、虔诚和那直上云霄的冲天之志。我比学比修,要求自己背法时,不求数量,但一个字不许错。真能做到时,我发自内心的快乐。过去,我喜欢被人关心。我离开了大陆,就远离了我的亲朋好友。在海外我无亲无故,有时会忍不住落泪。学法时,我对照大法,我在想:如果是神佛会怎么看这个问题?佛需要别人关心照顾吗?我对自己的执著就在这个环境中修去。我心里装着法,就没有什么好悲哀的。心性在学法中升华。

二、在现实中修炼心性、讲清真象

来到海外,我常听到办身份的事。我第一次听到这些事时,心里生出了不耐烦的心。一个修炼的人应不断提高对物质与精神的认识。一个永久签证意味着相应的利益和更好的工作。修炼的人可以什么都有,但心里应该很淡泊。我告诫自己:申请居留权的事要做好,精神负担更要放下。切不可迷失在人世沧桑中!既然我不耐烦,我就向内找。因为我会被人带动,我听到这些事时,心里会产生为自己担忧害怕的念头,所以就让我碰到这些事。如果我能坚定正念,排除对我心性的干扰,这就是修炼!

一次在神韵卖票时,有一个人看我是中国学生,他说,你知道吗?现在有五十万人等着拿永久签证。我清醒的意识到这是考验。因为我还未能破除对利益的执著,所以会遇到这件事。我尽力放下心里的不安,用正念看问题。五十万人等着拿签证,这件事跟我没有关系。这不是我眼中认为的真实,我的心不起波澜。那一天,我卖了5张票。一位好心的白人还告诉我,他已经在网上定了三张最贵的票。当移民局批准了我的永久签证时,我的心是平静的。修炼的人讲涵养,不会患得患失。而且一切好事都是师父给的,一切麻烦和不顺心的事情都是自己的执著心促成的。我觉的一个真正修炼的人就是头脑清醒、超然物外的。我也要努力达到这样的境界。

除了自身做好,我努力的向人们讲真相。师父说:作为大法弟子,在目前的情况下就是要向世人讲清真相、揭露邪恶,从而维护大法。个人的提高与圆满就在这过程中。”(《精進要旨二》《建议》)记得在学校念书时,一次老师让我们谈谈自己国家的教育系统。我讲了中国教育系统的一些真实情况。才说几句,就遭到几个中国同学的激烈反对。我镇定的说:这是自由民主国家,我可以把话说完。有什么问题我们可以下课再交流。一位同学指责我,我说:你在中国大陆考政治的时候,难道不是填写共产党定下的标准答案吗?她气愤的说:我不想跟你说话,你不是中国人。从那以后,她不再理我。

而老师的评语认为我在讲中国的教育现状时带有偏见。事实上我论述中没有夸大其辞的东西。我的心很难受,在向内找的过程中慢慢明白过来。我有一种观念,我认为只有我谈到了问题的实质,而别人都是在走过场。我比别人都好。由于我掺杂了自己的东西,我讲的话不能让别人接受。我悟到时,环境发生了变化。一次下课后,我听到一个声音拼命呼喊我的名字,回头一看,正是那位曾指责我的同学。她说她对自己的英语能力信心不足,让我帮她打电话询问如何延长学生签证。我打了电话,告诉她怎么做。她很高兴,买了一瓶水送给我。我把一个生命应该了解的真相好好的讲给她听,她接受了,脸上露出惊叹。之后,我帮她办了“三退”,她不断的向我道谢。

很多时候我还不能做到遇事向内找。无论碰到了什么,都能坚持内修的话,就能不断同化大法。最后,我用师父的经文(《精進要旨二》《理性》)与大家共勉:用理智去证实法、用智慧去讲清真相、用慈悲去洪法与救度世人,这就是在建立觉者的威德。

我的不足之处,请同修慈悲指正。

感谢师父把我置于大法修炼中!

谢谢师父!

谢谢同修!